Accreditation for Health & Social Care Sector

Health and Social Care Sector Accreditation

Accreditation underpins quality and confidence in health and social care provision to ensure consistency in the delivery of healthcare services to patients and commissioners

Accreditation for testing, diagnostic and measurement

ISO 15189 & POCT ISO 22870, ISO/IEC 17025, QSI, IQIPS, MPACE

Accreditation demonstrates that health and social care providers have undergone a rigorous process to assure patients, families, regulators and commissioners that high quality services are delivered by competent staff in safe environments.

UKAS accreditation covers medical laboratories, imaging diagnostics and physiological services. The type of activities included within these areas include taking and testing samples, x-rays, ultrasound tests, ECG’s and MRI examinations. It also covers the medical laboratories and tests that help diagnose disease, screen for congenital disorders, cancers and other conditions and which also monitor the progress of diseases and provide the data that informs therapies.

Accredited Certification and Inspection

ISO/IEC 17065, ISO/IEC  17020

UKAS accredited inspections and certified activity provides reassurance that good practices are being consistently observed with quality patient outcomes at its core. UKAS contributes to quality of care for patients, whilst delivering efficiency and productivity through the following accreditations:

The quality performance criteria stipulated in each accreditation was developed in conjunction with leading experts in the appropriate fields and through specialist medical bodies such as the Royal College of Physicians.  NHS England, NHS Improvement and the Care Quality Commission are committed to and strongly endorse participation in UKAS accreditation.