4 mins read

Aerospace QMS – AS/EN/JISQ 9100 2016 Transition

Transition for the 2016 release of AS/EN/JISQ 9100 Quality Management Systems – Requirements for Aviation, Space and Defence Organizations under EN9104-001: 2013 Aerospace Sector Scheme


The International Aerospace Quality Group (IAQG) has recently published its 2016 revision of the aerospace quality management system (AQMS) standard – 9100.  As this has been aligned with the revised version of ISO 9001:2015 it has been agreed that the transition date for this standard will mirror the IAF transition deadline of ISO 9001, therefore the deadline for both is now set as 15 September 2018.  

The details for transition are laid out in the IAQG Other Party Management Team (OPMT) document SR003, ‘Supplemental Rule 003 – Rules for 9100/9110/9120:2016 and 9101:2016 Transition’, dated 12 October 2016 which is available from the IAQG website (https://www.sae.org/?PORTAL_CODE=IAQGnote the link requires Internet Explorer Browser version 11 or above).  This UKAS technical bulletin is issued to fulfil the requirement in SR003 that UKAS provide information to all CBs accredited by UKAS for the IAQG scheme regarding the requirements for change of scope of accreditation for AQMS.  Please refer to SR003 regarding key dates set by the scheme in respect to the transition process.  The scheme has set a prerequisite for transition that CBs must be transitioned to ISO/IEC17021-1: 2015.

UKAS, along with other scheme related accreditation bodies, has been preparing its approach to managing this transition and at the October 2016 IAQG meeting in Miami a consensus approach was achieved as detailed below.


UKAS Approach to the Transition

The UKAS approach is consistent with the agreed approach of the Accreditation Bodies involved in the IAQG Aerospace Sector Scheme.

UKAS will conduct a remote or onsite, dependent on the most efficient method (to be confirmed by UKAS on a case by case basis), documentation review to determine if the CB is ready to provide certification to the new standard.  Areas to be confirmed/assessed to include:

  1. Gap Analysis of the CBs updates including ISO/IEC 17021-1: 2015 related IAQG scheme resolutions (https://www.sae.org/?PORTAL_CODE=IAQGnote the link requires Internet Explorer Browser version 11 or above);
  2. Training Programme and implementation consistent with item 3;
  3. CB Customer Transition Programme and roll out plan;
  4. Updated Processes/Procedures/Related Documentation;
  5. New Certificate Template.

To enable UKAS to complete the transition process for individual CBs, the CB will need to demonstrate that it has competent certification activity resource (e.g. Auditors, Decision Makers) to commence audits.  Where a CB is unable to demonstrate this during the documentation assessment then a finding will be raised that must be satisfactorily addressed prior to the ‘transition’ being granted.

CBs are requested to provide a completed UKAS Extension to Scope application form together with relevant information in order for UKAS to progress the assessment for the updating of the scope of accreditation to the new standard. The relevant information required to be provided is stated below under “Information Requirements”. The timeframe/dates for when the CB would like UKAS to undertake the transition assessments should also be provided.

UKAS normally conducts transition assessments at the time of an organisation’s annual surveillance or reassessment visit.  However, due to the need for the transitions to be completed in a relatively short time period to enable the certification bodies to commence audits to the new standards, it is anticipated that the transition assessments will be completed as stand-alone activities requiring additional time.   UKAS expects the transition assessment effort to be in the region of 1-2 days depending on the size and scope of the certification body’s accreditation.


Information Requirements

When submitting the Application Form, the certification body should submit a gap analysis (detailing what changes and enhancements have been necessary to the CB’s systems and processes) and details of transition arrangements, including timelines, communications with certified customers, training programmes, and process for confirming competence relating to certifications for the new 9100 standard.  It is recognised that at this time the revised versions of 9110 and 9120 have not yet been issued.  Updates to this Technical Bulletin will be issued as and when these standards are published.  The information provided will be used in the completion of the UKAS transition assessment.   Application forms with the supporting documentation should be submitted to [email protected].



Certification bodies must also ensure that expiry dates on any new certificates issued following initial certification or recertification to previous versions of the standards are in-line with IAQG resolution 131 (https://www.sae.org/?PORTAL_CODE=IAQGnote the link requires Internet Explorer Browser version 11 or above).

Any queries regarding the content of this bulletin should be directed to:

Steve Randall – Accreditation Specialist – Certification: [email protected] or

Kevin Belson – UKAS Technical Manager: [email protected]


Download [wpfilebase tag=fileurl id=1354 linktext=’printable version‘ /] of this Technical Bulletin